If a section is in the process of being leased up by a couple of dominant players, what would it take for a competing O&G company to get into the play? For example, if Shell and Comstock had accquired 60 percent of a 640 acre section, and you had a 70 acre parcel in that same section, would another company want to move on it for profitable production, or, is there a problem in this example being that majority interests are already leased in that section.
Shelby

Views: 52

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Shelby,

First I am no expert at any of this but I will try to answer your question based on recent discussions with O&G. The section where we live (rural S/B) was leased hard Oct 07 - Mar 08 by a company representing EnCana. The majority of the mineral owners signed leases, leaving only a few of us (that we currently know of) unsigned. I received a call from Petrohawk and was told by them that if we could get at least 25 to 30 acres in our section they would be willing to negotiate terms and lease our minerals. It was stated that anything smaller would not produce a large enough benefit for them to move in.

Hope this helps.
SoBoRes,
Thanks for the insight on your experience. It is interesting how this works regarding a competing O&G company only needing such small acreage positions. I wonder how much land makes a profitable venture; could they only put one rig on let's say, 70 acres.
Shelby
only one company can drill a unit [640 acres]...but the other company can use your leased land to work out a deal

.... they will swap your acreage like swapping baseball cards .
thanks RAY-T,
only one company, no "wildcats" of any sort?
shelby
It is incorrect to believe that one company could hold it all, look at South Louisiana and see how their OGML are done. It may be 10 zones under your feet and each shaped a different way, and none being of squares and anything of that nature.
Thomas R.