Could someone please enlighten me on what is all the activity happening in Panola County.  How long could this last?  Is this the start of another "gas boom"?  If so what is the opinion on when it will really take off?

What is the opinion for Shelby County?  Is because of higher drilling cost?  If so what does natural gas have to be for operators to make a profit of the wells drilled?

Excuse my ignorance, i am still a novice when it comes to this and am still trying to figure this out.  As a business owner (inherited) in this OILFIELD workers (all ranges) account for 90% of the business.  How can I learn more about this industry that is not so technical (if there is a resource out there)?

I would like to employe a successful sales strategy to help grow the business and get more in touch with clientele of this market segment.

Views: 1803

Replies to This Discussion

Can you tell me where the activity in Panola county is exactly? I was under the impression there isn't much activity going on.

There are currently 10 rigs drilling in Panola County:  Andarko 4, BP 1, Classic Operating 1, Petroquest Energy 1, Memorial Resource Development 1, XTO 1 and Indigo 1.  The general reason for this level of interest and activity is the presence of wet gas, both Haynesville Shale and Cotton Valley Sands.  The bulk of the drilling is "in-fill" in nature meaning that the formations have been drilled for a number of years, the productive area generally defined and the economics are within profit requirements of the companies drilling.  You can ask Julie (jffree1) more about Sibley County but  Haynesville Shale with liquids is relatively rare because most of the HS is dry gas thus the economics of Panola wells does not extend much outside of that county.  The Cotton Valley Sand is a conventional reservoir and as such is not continuously productive over a wide area.  That's why Panola has a good bit of activity while other E TX counties have little or none.