How do I go about accepting a lease? (Texas Haynesville play)

I'm posting this for my grandparents that is not computer literate. They have a few hundred acres in Shelby County and were given an offer of >$4000/ acre @24%. Now a landman (who is also a long time aquaintence of the family) stepped up and said that he could shop the land for us to get a higher price. In order to do so, we need to lease the land to him (an "open" lease where the lease price isn't on the books) and he would find a better deal. Actually, the lease wouldn't be in his name, but a third parties name, because the landman didn't want to make and enemies by using his own name since we works will all the companies in East Texas.

From my description you can probably see that I'm not experienced in the oil lease business. I have read on these boards that many leases are going for the $4-5K rate, but don't know if theres more to be made, and if this landman is being honest with us. When we began to question him, and he did not give the family a hard sell. But he did say that if we want to do it, it needs to be done fast. From experience I've learned to not trust people who try to force me into quick decisions . . .

So, is what this person wanting to do a common and valid practice? Or is this something that will give him money but not help us? Isn't $4300 + 24% a pretty attractive offer already? Any advice is appreciated

Views: 193

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

RUN, DON'T WALK FROM THIS GUY! Anyone that tells you something has to be done fast knows that he has precious little time to get his CON in on you. 24% is low as the average royalty is usually 25%.
If you have doubts about this guy and if you didn't you wouldnt be reaching out on this forum, tell him to go find another sucker. LIsten to your gut. Ask around about this guy. Better yet, put his name into Google and see if anything interesting comes up!