If this has been discussed previously, I cannot locate it here. I've been reading the site over the past few weeks and this is my first attempt at a discussion. I've heard discussion of a dry hole in certain areas that may lessen the value of leases in and around that area. Does anyone know if a well was previously drilled and determined to be dry if that does affect the surrounding area? Also I'm not good at reading the SONRIS map in LA but it looks like the the Desoto, Sabine, and Red River Parishes all contain numerous dry holes. It appears the ones that I viewed the data for date back to 1960s-1980s. If talk of a dry hole can hurt a particular area, then if I am reading it correctly, are they just talking about a recent dry hole?

Views: 226

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

No such thing as a "dry hole",if you are on the Shale,you are on gas.

the Shale gets "thinner" at the fringes[ Texas,Arkansas,Mississippi,,etc..]
and will not support directional drilling.
We will see. Just because the shale is there does not mean that it contains gas in paying quanities. Also, the well must produce enough to justify the expense of completion. Many of the more experianced geologists in the area believe that there will be sweet spots that will be more productive than others. This has been the case of the Barnett in Fort Worth.

Also keep in mind that the haynsville shale is not a new discovery, it has been known for many decades. The theory is that the shale was the source rock for the gas found in the cotton valley and hosston formations (sands). The problem is it shale was not productive on its own until many of the new technologies that are now being used (horizontal drilling, better fracs, etc.).

Dry holes are a common occurance. Also many more wells underpreform and do not pay out, i.e they cost more to drill, complete and operate than they produce.

Too many dry holes and the drilling companies will pack up and look for greener pastures.