3D seismic survey. Good or bad idea for unleased landowner?

Recently contacted about wanting a 3D seismic survey on my land. We are currently unleased. This seems like a large gamble on the part of the landowner in regards to anticipated leasing. I would appreciate anyone's input concerning this situation. Thanks

Views: 144

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Red River: Sect 23, T14N, R 9W.
Jay,
Reading your response to KB; if the shale is known to be consistent by the nature of its' formation, then why would the oil and gas companies leave 3 sections of know production volume on the table? What am I missing?
Shelby
Thank you Jay,
I hope that "one" spot ain't in South Desoto! Your opinions are always appreciated.
Shelby
Jay, I'm still learning;so, am I understanding you to say "don't allow" seismic testing in case nothing is there? and we should make the deal first?
Jay, back in the mid 80s I allowed a seismic crew on our property with the condition I be sent a copy of the results. They agreed and sent me what looked like a computer log, or simular to a bar code log. Can that be read today, and by who? Also this was most likely before the 3-d so would it have any real value?
I was also contacted to have a seismic survey done on my land. It is being reqested my Total Explorations on behalf of Buesa energy. This a 2D survey to be done in section 28 township 12 range 14. I have 40 acres that I have not leased out yet can anyone give me any advice.
we too have been contacted by two diff. co's to do 3D seismic surveys; one was form Cajun Exploration L.P./chesapeake for $25.00 per acre (total of 449.00) stated in the letter it said.."this is only to grant permission to view and does not in any way constitute a sale of these minerals.