If this has been discussed previously, I cannot locate it here. I've been reading the site over the past few weeks and this is my first attempt at a discussion. I've heard discussion of a dry hole in certain areas that may lessen the value of leases in and around that area. Does anyone know if a well was previously drilled and determined to be dry if that does affect the surrounding area? Also I'm not good at reading the SONRIS map in LA but it looks like the the Desoto, Sabine, and Red River Parishes all contain numerous dry holes. It appears the ones that I viewed the data for date back to 1960s-1980s. If talk of a dry hole can hurt a particular area, then if I am reading it correctly, are they just talking about a recent dry hole?

Views: 226

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I got my info on "no" dry holes in the Barnett and HA from reading the statements of Petrohawk's and CHK's ceos. I have also read some reports where the drillers in the fracing process "blow out" the hole and messed up a well so they had to move over and drill in another spot.

I agree with you "if it's not producing, it's not good for the landowner."
Just a quicky question/thought !
Wouldn't perceived problems play into the hands of O&G's concerning bonus money anyway ?
Stocks have been getting shelled of late anyway. If they had this info it could help them more then hurt IMHO.
What do you guy's think from a Hypothetical situation as far as strategy is concerned ?
How did JWP s well north of Benton do? My understanding is Not well.
Any real facts on this.
One Question: