WE RECENTLY DEPOSITED A BANK DRAFT TO OUR BANK WHERE WE WERE TOLD THAT 41% WE WOULD HAVE TO PAY IN TAXES. DOES ANYONE KNOW IF THIS IS CUSTOMARY OR IF THERE IS A WAY TO DEPOSIT DIFFERENTLY SO YOU DON'T HAVE TO PAY SO MUCH IN TAXES. JUST WONDERING?

Views: 75

Replies to This Discussion

hello. i've also been thinking about the taxes and would like to know if there is a way to park the money in an account and draw interest of the amount before taxes are paid 1-2 years to offset or help pay the taxes ,and or start paying taxes as it is taken out??? im no expert but i think you can put it in a trust fund and not pay taxes anybody got ananswer or opinion
Bonus money is regular income in the year received. Only way you can defray the tax is to set up some sort of charitable trust if bonus amount is worth the effort.
I am fairly sure that at the end of this year you will receive a 1099 from the o/g company with the amount that they paid you in bonus money. This will be added to your regular income if you work and you will have to pay taxes on the total amount which will probably be around the 41% that you were told. You can do a charity but you can only take off so much for this. It is another article wrote somewhere on this site regarding pay taxes. What lots of people are doing is taking the 41% and investing it somewhere until the end of the year so they will have the money to pay the taxes. Believe me that Uncle Sam will know how much you received.
Cassie,